Volume 15 - Issue 03
March 2017
Other Articles
'Like' us on Facebook Follow us: facebook twitter vimeo youtube

Posted on: Mar 09, 2017


Part- 1

Quizzes have been a part of Radio Sai journal's offering for over 10 years now. Initially it was Multi-faith quiz and soon we had quizzes based on Bhagawan’s discourses, and later, on His writings. In July 2016 we began this new series wherein we have quizzes on specific themes

The theme we have taken up in the holy month of Shivarathri is PASUPATHI, the Master of animals.


Quiz 01 || Quiz 02 || Quiz 03|| Quiz 04 || Quiz 05 || Quiz 06 || Quiz 07

The Master of Animals

Swami says: The inward vision will lead a person to Pasupathi, the Lord of all living beings - the master of animals...

A human born with animal qualities can elevate himself through self-effort and training into a master of the animal qualities (Pasupathi).

- Vidya Vahini, Chapter 4.

We delve into Swami’s teachings through the birds and the beasts in this fun quiz, to contemplate on the profound messages delivered to us in His simple inimitable style.

Let’s go…

Remnants of Past Lives

01: Swami says: Man has passed through many animal lives before he has come to earth in human form. Strains of animal nature such as cruelty, anger, greed and hatred still persist in him. Man is many animals in one. He has the jackal, the buffalo, the tiger, the elephant - all in him. He must cast off these traits from his composition.

He has pointed out certain animal qualities that are traceable to our previous life as that animal. For example, He has said those who adopt devious ways to earn a livelihood are akin to the jackal.

Which of these following qualities (in the left column) could denote a previous life as an animal indicated (in the right column)?

Match the following:
Drag and Drop the answers

Remnant Animal Qualities

Previous Animal Life

a. Foolishness
  • Buffalo
  • Cat
  • Sheep
  • Crow
  • Monkey
b. Megalomania
c. Slyness and Strategy
d. Unsteadiness
e. Disregard for honest living


Let's learn more:



The Senses and Rudras

02: Swami says:

Swami says: According to numerology, the three letters "Si", "va" and "Raa" make up eleven ("Si"=5, "Va"=4 and "Raa"=2). These eleven are known as the Ekaadas Rudras, the eleven Rudras. The fourth syllable "thri" means "three". Thus Sivarathri is the day devoted to overcoming the eleven Rudras by adoring the Supreme Lord, who is master of them all.

The Rudras turn the Buddhi (intellect) towards sensuous objects and thrust the individual in the sea of Samsara (worldly life). The Paramatma (Supreme Spirit) is master of all the Rudras. Only the man who has conquered the eleven Rudras can expect to realise the Supreme. Who are the eleven Rudras? They are' the five Karmendriyas (organs of action) the five Jnanedriyas (organs of perception) and the Buddhi. Man must seek to control as much as possible these eleven organs. From ancient times, the sages have stressed the supreme importance of sense-control as the means to God-realisation.

He has also said:

Man’s stronghold should be to adhere to the path of truth, rectitude, and justice. But man’s tragedy is that he becomes a helpless victim of his five senses, which lead him astray and land him in endless problems. We have the classic examples of each kind of animal or insect being trapped and even losing its life on account of its weakness for one sense alone.

He goes on to give examples of five creatures succumbing to one of the five senses each. The five creatures and the five senses are listed below. Match the sense on the left with the creature who falls victim to it:

Match the following:
Drag and Drop the answers




a. Touch
  • Deer
  • Elephant
  • Moth
  • Bee
  • Fish
b. Sight
c. Smell
d. Taste
e. Sound



Let's learn more:


Lessons Taught by Animals

03: Swami says:

Indifference, bad company, disrespect, arrogance and jealousy - these five tendencies reduce man to the level of the animal. No one with these vices can be called an educated person.

To get rid of these vices, it is necessary to take note of some of the good qualities in animals and birds. Man can learn any number of good qualities from animals, birds, insects and worms.

Given below are a few humble animals/ birds/ insects. Can you guess what lessons Swami would like us to learn from these?

Match the following:
Drag and Drop the answers


Lessons they teach


a. Donkey
  • Conjugal Fidelity
  • Forbearance
  • Foresight
  • Gratitude
  • Determination
b. Ant
c. Parrot
d. Spider
e. Dog



Let's learn more:



Meditating on Shiva

04: Swami says:

Realise, while worshipping the lingam, the inner sense of the many attributes of Siva. Meditate thus on Siva this day, so that you may get rid of the last lingering vestiges of delusion.

Match the attributes of the Shiva Form with the inner meaning on the right.

Match the following:
Drag and Drop the answers


Inner Meaning


a. Moon
  • Destroying Animality
  • Mastering Mind
  • Omniscient
  • Symbol of Creation
  • Dharma
b. Three Eyes of Siva
c. Cloak of Elephant Skin
d. Bull
e. lingam


Let's learn more:



Stages of Evolution

05: Swami says:

Man has been endowed with the body, the senses, the mind and the intelligence to experience his natural state of bliss. But unfortunately, because these agencies are polluted and misused, man is plunged in misery. The body is enveloped in the tainted cloaks of Raga and Dwesha (attachment and hatred). The senses are shrouded in the soiled cloth of desires and sensuous pleasures. The mind is enveloped by all these four coverings. As a result, man is prevented from recognising his true nature. He believes that the physical and worldly pleasures and attachments and aversions are natural to him. These are all transient and ephemeral like passing clouds.

Swami then teaches how the scriptures evaluate man’s state of evolution based on whether he follows the senses, mind, intelligence or Atma.

Can you guess which state a man reaches when he follows each of the four?

Match the following:
Drag and Drop the answers

If I am led by

I become

a. Senses
  • Man
  • Enlightened Being
  • Brahman
  • Animal
b. Mind
c. Discrimination
d. Atma


Let's learn more:


Total Score : 0 out of 24



Becoming Pasupathi

The senses have been compared to pasu (animals). The word pasu means the one whose vision is externally oriented. The one having an inner vision is called pasupati or “the Lord of animals” (Siva). Man should aspire and strive to become a “pasupati” or master of the senses, but not a pasu, a slave of the senses.

- Divine discourse, 21st May 1990

comments powered by Disqus

Dear Reader, did you like this quiz? Is it too difficult? Is it interactive enough? Would you like more such quizzes? Please help us in serving you better by writing to h2h@radiosai.org mentioning your name and country. Thank you for your time.

- Radio Sai Team

counter for wordpress